moving towards my bliss.

Image

Hello Yogis!

So as you can tell from my dormant blog, I’ve been majorly lagging on the blogging.  I fell out of my regular yoga practice and began pursuing other interests (gardening, hanging out with my amazing boyfriend, and re-learning tennis, to name a few).  I haven’t had anything insightful to say aside from a product review here or there, so I felt like should put the blog on the back burner until I came up with something worth writing about.  And then something Barbara Walters said on yesterday’s episode of “The View” struck a chord with me – in reference to the age old advice to recent grads to “follow your bliss”, she asked how many college graduates really know what their “bliss” is?  And if they don’t know what it is, how are they supposed to follow it?

I’m 32 years old and I have spent the past few years redefining what I thought my bliss was.  After many months of serious thought towards my future, I realized that I have been working a “regular” desk job since 2003 and that it was a safe yet unfulfilling way to spend my 9am-5pm, Monday-Friday.  I work in customer service and though I honestly do  LOVE helping people, it’s a different kind of “helping” when you’re sorting out someone’s issue with your company.  I want to do something “helpful” that truly changes other people’s lives, and at the end of 2011, I decided I wanted to become a fitness instructor.

If you look at me, I don’t embody the gym-rat, hyper-sculpted fitness model instructor-type.  In fact, I struggled (and still struggle) with my weight and body image and I know that the fitness industry can be very difficult based on your looks.  I still have issues with yoga because of the limitations of my body (and my bidou) But in March of 2012, I received my license to teach Zumba Fitness, a Latin-dance based exercise format that has become extremely popular in the past few years.  I’ve been a dancer forever, but I haven’t danced regularly in a very long time, and Zumba kind of brought me back to my “roots”.  My mother can tell you that from a very young age, I was never the type to sit still for too long.  Moving is what moves me, and I really think that in order to be happy, I have to follow my heart and find that sweet spot where I can make a living doing something that doesn’t feel like it’s draining the life out of me.  (No offense, day job!)

So I’m branching out on this blog.  Its roots were founded on my serious and regular yoga practice that I was able to sustain a few years ago, and I still plan on getting my yoga teacher certification once I can pony up $3000 for an instructor training.  But I want to chronicle my journey here – and hope you will continue to follow me (and maybe come to one of my classes!).

Ciao for now….

2 Comments

  1. suki said,

    May 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    YES to Zumba classes! :) Let me know when/where/how!

  2. omgirlsf said,

    May 24, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    I will definitely keep you posted, Suki!! I’m looking for space right now to hold a free class or two, so if you know anywhere, send me an email :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

